News Release

IRPP book wins the 2018 Doug Purvis Memorial Prize

June 2, 2018 Print

Montreal – Graham Fox, President and CEO of the Institute for Research on Public Policy congratulates Ari Van Assche, Robert Wolfe and Stephen Tapp, on winning the 2018 Doug Purvis Memorial Prize for their edited volume, Redesigning Canadian Trade Policies for New Global Realities.

The book, published by the IRPP in April 2017, brought together thirty one leading academics, government researchers and practitioners from Canada and abroad to analyze how changes in global commerce, investments, technology, and economic and geopolitical power are affecting Canada, and what this means for policy. This book provides a portrait of the situation and detailed road map for more inclusive trade policy.

Ari Van Assche is an associate professor and director of the Department of International Business at HEC Montréal. Robert Wolfe is a professor emeritus at the School of Policy Studies at Queen’s University. Both are research fellows at the IRPP. Stephen Tapp is a deputy chief economist at Export Development Canada and formerly a research director at the IRPP.

This marks the IRPP’s third win for the Purvis Prize, which is awarded annually to the authors of a highly significant, written contribution to Canadian economic policy. The award was established in 1994 in memory of noted Canadian economist Doug Purvis. Other IRPP publications that won the Purvis Prize are, Income Inequality: The Canadian Story (2016) and Taxing Canadian Families: What’s Fair, What’s Not (2000).

The Institute for Research on Public Policy is an independent, national, bilingual, not-for-profit organization based in Montreal. To receive updates from the IRPP, please subscribe to our e-mail list.

Media contact: Shirley Cardenas tel. 514-594-6877

Media Contact

Cléa Desjardins
Communications Director
514-245-2139 •