« Canada’s Innovation Conundrum : Five Years After the Jenkins Report »
Déjeuner-causerie
13 juin 2016
Ottawa

Le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé qu’il poursuivrait l’ambitieux objectif de faire du Canada un centre mondial d’innovation et qu’il développerait un stimulant programme à cet effet au cours de la prochaine année.

Quels devraient être les éléments clés de ce programme ? Et dans quelle mesure de nouvelles politiques peuvent-elles vraiment dynamiser la performance canadienne en matière d’innovation, qui reste très faible au regard de pays comparables ?

L’IRPP a organisé un déjeuner-causerie avec l’auteur d’un rapport sur la question, Andrei Sulzenko (ancien sous-ministre adjoint principal d’Industrie Canada), ainsi que les commentateurs, l’honorable John Manley (président et chef de la direction du Conseil canadien des affaires), Ilse Treurnicht (PDG de MaRS Discovery District) et Iain Klugman (PDG de Communitech, région de Waterloo). La rencontre a été animée par Graham Fox (président et chef de la direction de l’Institut de recherche en politiques publiques).

 

Audio

 

Vidéo

 

Commanditaire :

Bilingual Logo

menu
IRPP Event

Canada’s Innovation Conundrum: Five Years After the Jenkins Report

The federal government has announced an ambitious goal of turning Canada into a centre of global innovation. Over the next year or so, it will develop a bold new innovation agenda to help achieve this objective.

What should be the crucial elements of this agenda? And how much can changing government policies actually boost Canada’s innovation performance, which has been lamentably poor relative to those of peer countries?

The IRPP hosted a working lunch with the author of an IRPP report on this topic, Andrei Sulzenko (former senior assistant deputy minister, Industry Canada), and commentators Hon. John Manley (president and CEO, Business Council of Canada); Ilse Treurnicht (CEO, MaRS Discovery District); and Iain Klugman (CEO, Communitech). The moderator of the event was president and CEO of the IRPP, Graham Fox.

Sponsored by:

Panellists

Moderator

Date and time
June 13, 2016
Location
Ottawa
Event Type
Recent Stories
Working Lunch
Registration
Registration is closed
New research from the IRPP provides roadmap for achieving universal pharmacare
New research from the IRPP provides roadmap for achieving universal pharmacare